What is the Year of Unity?

The Year of Unity was launched in 2017 as a yearlong collaborative effort of programming and events hosted by Project Unity in partnership with all segments of our community which includes faith, business, civic, philanthropic, grass roots and government entities. Through dialogue, community building, education and empowerment, we believe that what unites us greater than what divides us.

Therefore, we seek to achieve our mission of building and sustaining a stronger, more unified community together through a series of events and programs entitle “Together We…”.

These community engagement programs build off the great success of Together We Ball and Together We Pray, both programs developed and hosted by Project Unity to begin bridging the divide in our community as a result of the racial tension highlighted with the death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, August 9, 2014.

Year of Unity Programs

Together We Ball (2015)
Together We Heal
Together We Pray
Together We Worship
Together We Read
Together We Dine


At the end of 2017, thousands of Dallas citizens had engaged in some tough and enlightening conversations on race; experienced hands on learning that allowed participants to learn how to act and react to law enforcement; watched pastors, police and community leaders play basketball together; prayed and worshiped with people from different faiths, neighborhoods, and backgrounds; remembered our officers who tragically died on 7/7/16; and engaged in the Year of Unity Challenge.

Beyond the 2017 Year of Unity initiative, it is our goal to continue to reach thousands of teens and adults through our “Together We” programs and promote the message that “what unites us is greater than what divides us” whether through worship, music, basketball, interaction with law enforcement or sharing a meal.


George W. Bush
43rd President of the United States


Arcilia Acosta
CEO, CARCON Industries & STL Engineers

Michelle Carter
2016 U.S. Olympic Gold Medalist

Galileo Jumaoas
President, Asian American Chamber of Commerce

Almas Muscatwalla
Chair, Interfaith Council
Board Member, Thanks-giving Foundation

Mike Rawlings
Mayor, City of Dallas

Mike Sorrell
President, Paul Quinn College

Dr. Brian Williams, MD FACS
Medical Director of Parkland Community Health Institute


Bonner Allen
Junior League of Dallas

Malik Aziz
National Black Police Association

Ken Barth
CEO, Symphonic Sources, Inc.

Ty Bledsoe
Vice President, External & Legislative Affairs, AT&T

Froswa Booker-Drew
Director of Community Affairs, State Fair of Texas

Carrie Broussard
Chairman, Conscious Capitalism

Dave Brown
Executive VP and General Manager,
American Airlines Center

Bryan Carter
African American Pastors Coalition, Pastor Concord Church

Kelly Compton
Executive Director, The Hoglund Foundation

Rob Crain
President, Dallas Bar Association

Diana Einstein
Executive Director, Mayor’s Star Council

Kourtny Garrett
President and CEO, Downtown Dallas, Inc.

Cammy Gaston
District Superintendent,
North Texas Conference of United Methodist Church

Samantha Goldstein
Culture Ambassador, Interstate Batteries

Gary Griffith
President, Today Foundation

Dr. Michael Hinojosa
Superintendent, Dallas ISD

Susan Hoff
Chief Strategy, Impact & Operations Officer, United Way Dallas

Larry James
CEO, City Square

Susan Wells Jenevein
Director of Development, Cristo Rey Dallas College Prep

Charles F. Johnson
Executive Director for Pastors for Texas Children

Ron Kirk
Gibson and Dunn

Tomasz Kwiatkowski
Assistant Vice President, PlainsCapital Bank

Steve Letson
Senior Vice President of Operations, Dallas Mavericks

Bobby Lyle
President and CEO, Lyco Holdings Inc.

Eric McHenry
Sewell Lexus Dallas

Bishop Mike McKee
North Texas Conference of UMC

Linda McMahon
President and CEO, The Real Estate Council

Sarah Cotton Nelson
Chief Philanthropic Officer, Communities Foundation of Texas

Andrew Paley
Senior Rabbi, Temple Shalom

Sheron Patterson
Communications Director for the United Methodists of North Texas

Tim Powers
Managing Partner, Haynes and Boone

Paul Rasmussen
Senior Minister, Highland Park United Methodist Church

Jolie Robinson
Manager, Dallas Police Department (Office of Community Affairs & Employee Communications)

Matthew Ruffner
Senior Minister, Preston Hollow Presbyterian Church

Andres Ruzo
CEO and Chairman, LinkAmerica

Chris Slaughter
President, Thanks-Giving Foundation

Pamela Stein
Executive Director/North Texas District Council/Urban Land Institute

Andy Stoker
Senior Minister, First United Methodist Church

Robert B. Tapley
100 Black Men of Greater Dallas/Ft. Worth

Dr. R. Gerald Turner
President, Southern Methodist University

Dr. Jeff Warren
Senior Pastor, Park Cities Baptist Church